Township Officials

Township Directory

Lori A. Stauffer 623 Municipal Drive Nazareth, PA 18064 (610) 759-7434
Tammi M. Dravecz 623 Municipal Drive Nazareth, PA 18064 (610) 759-7434
Lori B. Seese 623 Municipal Drive Nazareth, PA 18064 (610) 759-7434, Ext. 1003
Shannon Calluori 623 Municipal Drive Nazareth, PA 18064 (610) 759-7434, Ext. 1012
623 Municipal Drive Nazareth, PA 18064 (610) 759-7436
Lorie Gyarmaty 623 Municipal Drive Nazareth, PA 18064 (610) 759-7434, Ext. 1001
Lori A. Stauffer 623 Municipal Drive Nazareth, PA 18064 (610) 759-7434, Ext. 1001
Eric Mitcheltree PO Box 284, Nazareth, PA 18064
office: 519 Mountain View Rd, Nazareth
(484) 291-1546
Keystone Collections Group 3606 Route 378 Ste A
(within the Black River Plaza)
Bethlehem, PA 18015
(888) 519-3897
Keystone Consulting Engineers 2870 Emrick Boulevard
Bethlehem, PA 18020
Gary Asteak 726 Walnut Street
Easton, PA 18042

Board of Supervisors

James S. Pennington, Chairman
Martin J. Boucher, Vice Chairman
Stephen A. Brown
Robert J. Hoyer
Amy L. Templeton


What is the Board of Supervisors?

Lower Nazareth Township is governed by an elected body organized under the Second Class Township Code of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. That Board is called the Board of Supervisors and consists of five (5) elected officials, each serving a six (6) year term.

The Board of Supervisors is charged with the general governance of the township to secure the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of the Community. To accomplish that task the Board adopts laws, known as ordinances, which govern various activities within the Township.

The Board may appoint a Township Manager who is charged by the Board with implementing the ordinances it passes and managing the annual budget of the Township which is adopted by the Board each December for the following calendar year.

How Board of Supervisor Meetings Work

The Board of Supervisors typically meet on a twice monthly basis to conduct business on behalf of the Township. All meetings of the Board are open to the public with an opportunity at each meeting for public comment.

If a resident has a concern he or she feels needs to be addressed within the Township, the individual is encouraged to contact the Township Office. Many times, issues can be addressed by Township Staff, however if an appearance before the Board is necessary, time may be scheduled to present concerns to the Board of Supervisors. Residents are encouraged to present their views on Township matters on any of the means available, including written or electronic communication or by telephone. The Township Staff strive to facilitate your communication with the Board of Supervisors.

Board of Auditors

Marc Suhr, Chairman
Regis Flaherty, Secretary
Jeffry Wetherell

The elected Board of Auditors consists of three members, each elected to a six year term. Typically, the Board of Auditors conducts the annual audit of township finances, except when an independent auditor has been appointed by the Board of Supervisors, which is the case in Lower Nazareth Township. The Elected Board of Auditors also set the compensation of supervisors when employed by the township as road masters, road superintendents, road laborers, or as secretary or as treasurer.

Planning Commission

Linda Crook, Chairperson
Hugh Harris, Vice Chairperson
Tara Capecci, Secretary
Travis Gerould
Bert Smalley

This Commission is a five-member advisory body to the Board of Supervisors. Each member serves a six-year term. The Planning Commission meets on the third Monday of each month. This Commission makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors on development plans submitted to the Township, suggests modifications where needed, and recommends appropriate actions. The nature of local government requires that the Board of Supervisors dedicate itself to the many issues of day-to-day operations and the details of land use can often be lost in the mountain of important, but time-consuming demands. The Planning Commission, as an independent advisory body, gives the Board of Supervisors the assurance that the important issues of land use and future growth are given the necessary attention.

Zoning Hearing Board

Manouel Changalis – Chair
Daniel Cortright – Vice Chair
Michael Gaul
Robert Stocklas(1st Alternate)
Stephen Nordahl (2nd Alternate)

The Zoning Hearing Board has no legislative power; therefore it can neither make nor modify zoning policy. The Zoning Hearing Board does not have enforcement powers. It is a quasi-judicial body; that is, its powers are to some extent judicial in nature. The board schedules hearings on applications and appeals that come before it, takes evidence, and issues written decisions with findings of fact and conclusions of law. A ZHB must limit its scope of activities to those permitted by the Pennsylvania Municipalities Planning Code (MPC) and by the local zoning ordinance.

The primary purpose of the Zoning Hearing Board is to help assure fair and equitable application and administration of the zoning ordinance by hearing appeals on the zoning officer’s determinations and by granting relief from the literal enforcement of the ordinance in certain hardship situations. The Board consists of a three-member Board with two alternate members. All members of this Board are appointed by the Board of Supervisors and serve five year terms. They meet on demand, the fourth the Tuesday of each month.

Environmental Advisory Council

Lynn Ratzell, Chairman
Kay Brazinski, Vice-Chairman
William Stone, Secretary
Donald Capecci
Beverly Hoyer

The Environmental Advisory Council (EAC) advises the Board of Supervisors, Planning Commission, and Park and Recreation Boards on matters dealing with protection, conservation, management, promotion and use of natural resources, located within the Township. The EAC consists of five members, each serving a five-year term. These members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors. The newly formed EAC meeting schedule will be established soon.

Agricultural Security Committee

Jeff Setzer
Guy Wagner
David Meixell


The Agricultural Security Committee reviews Agricultural Security Area applications and reports back to the Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors with their recommendations. This five-member committee is appointed by the Board of Supervisors and meets on demand only.